Book Clubs


Come along to your local library for our group discussions on book club picks for all ages – tea/coffee and biscuits included! Contact the libraries directly for more information or to book a place.

Abbeyleix Library – Call 057 8730020 or email abbeyleixlibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Adult Book Club – meets on the last Thursday of the month at 6:30pm. Contact the library for more details.

Mountmellick Library – Call 057 8644572 or email mountmellicklibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Our book clubs will be taking a break for the summer but will return in September. If interested in joining any of them please contact Mountmellick Library.

The Short & Sweet Bookclub – meets once a month to discuss two or three short stories. Contact the library for more details

Adult Book Club – a brand new adult book club will be starting soon. Contact the library to register your interest.

Junior Book Club – story explorers wanted, ages 8-12 for some fun, facts and fiction. Contact the library to register your interest.

Baby Book Club – takes place on Tuesday mornings at 10:30am. Booking is essential.

Mountrath Library – Call 057 8756378 or email mountrathlibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Adult Book Club – meets on the first Thursday of every month at 6:15pm. Contact the library for more details.

Portarlington Library – Call 057 8643751 or email portarlingtonlibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Adult Book Club – meets on the last Tuesday of the month at 11am. Contact the library for more details.

Junior Book Club for 9-12 years – meets on the last Wednesday of the month at 6pm. Contact the library for more details.

Portlaoise Library – Call 057 8622333 or email portlaoiselibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Adult Book Club – meets monthly on Wednesdays at 6:30pm. Contact the library for more details.

Junior Book Club for 6-9 years – meets monthly on Thursdays at 4pm. Contact the library for more details.

Armchair Adventures Book Club for 10-12 years – meets on the last Friday of the month at 4pm. Contact the library for more details.

Baby Book Club for 0-3 years – meets fortnightly on Thursdays at 10:30am. Baby Book Club uses songs, stories and rhymes to build a foundation to literacy in babies and toddlers through sound awareness. Contact the library for more details.

Literature at 11 – meets fortnightly on Thursdays from 11am-12pm. Do you love poetry and literature but do not have the time available to join a book club?  Do you like the idea of listening to poetry and prose reading and discussing them with a group? We will provide tea and coffee, great literature and chat!

Rathdowney Library – Call 0505 46852 or email rathdowneylibrary@laoiscoco.ie

Adult Book Club – meets on the first Monday of each month at 8pm. Contact the library for more details.

Stradbally Library – Call 057 8641673 or email stradballylibrary@laoiscoco.ie

The Artists Way Book Club – meets every Wednesday at 2:30pm. Places are limited, so booking is essential.

 

Laois Libraries Online Book Club reads one book a month chosen from the BorrowBox collection. On the last Sunday of each month, questions are posed for discussion on our Book Club Facebook page. You can join the group via this link: https://www.facebook.com/groups/315513126404037. New members are always welcome.