In this section:

There are 19 Elected Members of Laois County Council. The Elected Members are generally referred to as County Councillors or Councillors. Each Councillor is elected to represent a specific Local Electoral Area. In total there are 3 Local Electoral Areas in County Laois.

The following are the names of the Local Electoral Areas and the figure in brackets indicate the number of Councillors that are elected to represent that Local Electoral Area.

Councillors are elected every 5 years at Local Elections. The most recent Local Elections were held on Friday 24th May 2019.  The Statutory Provisions relating to eligibility to become a Councillor and related matters are set out in Part 3 of the Local Government Act 2001, as amended.

Members of Laois County Council with Chief Executive, Peter Carey, at Annual General Meeting, June 2014.

The Statutory provisions relating to the holding of Local Elections are set out in Part 4 of the Local Government Act 2001. The Act provided for the holding of Local Elections in 2004 and every fifth year thereafter. The Local Elections are conducted using the system of proportional representation with electors having one “Transferable Vote”. The definition of the “Transferable Vote” is set out in Section 37 of the Electoral Act 1992.





Click here to read about the current Cathaoirleach

Local Elections 2019 

The Local Elections 2019