Recycling centres/bring banks


Bring Banks for Food and Drink Glass (Bottles and Jars) and Cans 


Opening hours for Portlaoise Recycling Centre – Tel: 057 86 20653

Eircode: R32 RD45

Open:    Monday to Friday 8.00am to 3.30pm
Saturday 8.00am to 1.00pm

Closed: Sundays / Public & Bank Holidays


Opening hours for Portarlington Recycling Centre – Tel: 057 86 42845

Eircode: R32 T291

Open:   Monday, Wednesday, Friday: 8.00am to 3.30pm (Last entry 3.15pm)
Saturday 8.00am to 1.30pm (Last entry 1.15pm)

Closed: Tuesdays / Thursdays / Sundays / Public & Bank Holidays

We take an active part in encouraging recycling operations throughout the county.  To compliment the extensive variety of materials accepted at the Portlaoise and Portarlington recycling centres, Laois County Council also have a large bring bank network which takes household food and drink glass bottles and jars and food and drink cans only. The full list of these facilities is given below.

Please do not abuse these facilities by leaving rubbish or waste at them. They are not intended to accept plastic containers, paper items or other items that are not food and drink packaging, such as cups, saucers, drinking glasses, pyrex dishes, candles, mirrors, light bulbs, vases, window panes, microwave oven platters, paint cans etc or containers with food still in them; such objects and substances contaminate the recyclable materials that you and others have brought to the bring banks. Also, it is a litter offence to leave bags and boxes at the facilities; please bring them home with you for reuse or dispose of them properly.

  • Abbeyleix (Circle K Garage)
  • Arles (Community Centre Car Park)
  • Attanagh (Post Office)
  • Ballacolla (Community Centre)
  • Ballaghmore (opposite shop)
  • Ballinakill (Lay-by on R432 Abbeyleix Road, 600m north of the Square)
  • Ballyadams (Church Car Park)
  • Ballybrittas (Petrol Filling Station)
  • Ballyfin (near entrance to GAA pitch)
  • Ballylynan (in Car Park behind Centra)
  • Barrowhouse (GAA grounds)
  • Borris in Ossory (beside old Courthouse building on the Roscrea Road)
  • Castletown (Community Centre)
  • Clonaslee (Community Centre)
  • Clough (Foxrock Inn Car Park)
  • Coolrain (Adjacent to Post Box)
  • Cullohill (Community Centre)
  • Durrow (Texaco Garage on R639, Cork Road)
  • Emo (entrance to Emo Court, across from craft centre)
  • Graiguecullen (opposite Doyle’s of the Shamrock)
  • Killeen (Community Centre Car Park)
  • Killenard (Community Centre Car Park)
  • Killeshin (Car Park of Killeshin Hall)
  • Luggacurren (Community Centre)
  • Mayo (St Abbans Athletic Club)
  • Mountmellick (SuperValu-Medical Centre Car Park)
  • Mountmellick (Emo Filling Station on Tullamore Road)
  • Newtown (N78 – R430 Junction, across from Flemings Pub)
  • Pike of Rushall (R445 Lay-by at Crossroads)
  • Portarlington (Portarlington Recycling Centre)*
  • Portarlington (SuperValu Car Park)
  • Portlaoise (Portlaoise Recycling Centre located at Kyletalesha Landfill)*
  • Portlaoise (Car Park adjacent to Laois County Council Motor Tax Office)
  • Portlaoise (opposite Downey’s Kia, R445 Dublin Road)
  • Portlaoise (Parkside Shopping Centre, N77 Abbeyleix Road)
  • Portlaoise (car park of Dunnes Stores, Mountmellick Road)
  • Raheen (in Car Park behind Doogue’s Bar)
  • Rathdowney (SuperValu Car Park)
  • Rosenallis (Community Centre)
  • Shanahoe (at end of Graveyard Car Park area)
  • Spink (next to Knock National School)
  • Stradbally (SuperValu car park)
  • The Swan (Medical Centre)
  • Timahoe (Community Centre)
  • Wolfhill (Car Park opposite Church)

*entry fee applies to use Portlaoise Recycling Centre and Portarlington Recycling Centre

A map showing the locations of these recycling facilities can be accessed via the following link:  Recycling Centres and Bring Bank Network Map


Please visit for more information about recycling in Ireland.  You might also use the following links to Glassco Recycling’s website for additional information:



Read More News Stories