Local Elections 2019

The Local Elections 2019 were held on Friday 24th May 2019 in conjunction with the European Elections and a Referendum.

Elections were conducted on the basis of the areas set out in the 2018/2019 Ministerial orders which implement the recommendations of the Local Electoral Area Boundary Committee Reports 2018.


There are three Local Electoral Areas within County Laois and they are:


Local Electoral Area No. of Members
Borris In Ossory –   Mountmellick 6
Graiguecullen –   Portarlington 6
Portlaoise 7
Total 19


Please follow the links below for the results of the 2019 Local Elections by area.

Borris In Ossory – Mountmellick LEA

Graiguecullen – Portarlington LEA

Portlaoise LEA

Register of Electors

In order to be able to vote at an election, an elector must be entered on the Register of Electors for the locality in which the electors ordinarily resides. For further information in relation to the Register – Register of Electors

Election & Referendum Posters – Frequently Asked Questions

Election & Referendum Posters FAQ


ESB Press Release

ESB Networks warns against using electricity poles as poster sites for the Local and European Elections

ESB Press Release



Read More News Stories