MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF GRAIGUECULLEN/PORTARLINGTON MUNICIPAL DISTRICT MEETING HELD ON WEDNESDAY, 21ST OF JUNE 2023 HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBER AND VIA MICROSOFT TEAMS

PRESENT Mr. Paschal McEvoy, Cathaoirleach (In the Chair)

Mr. Aidan Mullins M.C.C. Mr. Padraig Fleming, M.C.C.

Mr. P.J. Kelly, M.C.C. Mr. Ben Brennan, M.C.C. Ms. Aisling Moran, M.C.C.

IN ATTENDANCE: Mr. Gerry Murphy, Head of Finance

Mr. Philip McVeigh, Senior Executive Engineer

Ms. Michelle McCormack, Staff Officer

(1) Election of Cathaoirleach

Councillor Aidan Mullins proposed Councillor Ben Brennan to be elected Cathaoirleach. This was seconded by Councillor Aisling Moran.

Councillor Padraig Fleming proposed Councillor P.J. Kelly to be elected Cathaoirleach. This was seconded by Councillor Paschal McEvoy

A roll call vote was taken which resulted as follows: -

	Councillor Ben Brennan	Councillor P.J. Kelly
Councillor McEvoy		✓
Councillor Moran	✓	
Councillor Fleming		✓
Councillor Mullins	✓	
Councillor Kelly		✓
Councillor Brennan	✓	

The result of the roll call was 3 votes in favour of Councillor Brennan and 3 votes in favour of Councillor Kelly.

As there was a tie in the votes and in accordance with Standing Orders, the names of the two candidates were written on similar slips of paper and drawn. It was agreed that the first name drawn would be deemed elected. Mr. Gerry Murphy, Head of Finance drew the name of Councillor Ben Brennan and therefore Councillor Ben Brennan was deemed elected Chairperson of the Graiguecullen/Portarlington MD for the forthcoming year.

The members wished Councillor Brennan well for the year.

(2) Election of Leas Cathaoirleach

Councillor Paschal McEvoy proposed Councillor Padraig Fleming to be elected Leas-Cathaoirleach. This was seconded by Councillor P.J. Kelly.

Councillor Aisling Moran proposed Councillor Aidan Mullins to be elected Cathaoirleach. This was seconded by Councillor Ben Brennan.

A roll call vote was taken which resulted as follows: -

	Councillor Fleming	Councillor Mullins
Councillor McEvoy	✓	
Councillor Moran		✓
Councillor Fleming	✓	
Councillor Mullins		✓
Councillor Kelly	✓	
Councillor Brennan		✓

The result of the roll call was 3 votes in favour of Councillor Fleming and 3 votes in favour of Councillor Mullins.

As there was a tie in the votes and in accordance with Standing Orders, the names of the two candidates were written on similar slips of paper and drawn. It was agreed that the first name drawn would be deemed elected. Mr. Gerry Murphy, Head of Finance drew the name of Councillor Aidan Mullins and therefore Councillor Aidan Mullins was deemed elected Leas Cathaoirleach of the Graiguecullen/Portarlington MD for the forthcoming year.

(3) Agree Schedule of Meetings

It was agreed that the September meeting of the Graiguecullen /Portarlington MD would take place on the 13^{th} of September 2023 as the National Ploughing Championships are scheduled for the 19^{th} – 21^{st} of September 2023. A schedule of meetings for the remainder of the year would be issued to the Members.

Signed:	
	Ben Brennan, M.C.C.