MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON THE 28TH OF JUNE 2021 IN THE DUNAMAISE ARTS CENTRE & THEATRE

PRESENT:	Councillor	Catherine Fitzgerald	In The Chair
	Councillors	Willie Aird	Paddy Bracken
		John Joe Fennelly	Aidan Mullins
		Padraig Fleming	James Kelly
		Seamus McDonald	Aisling Moran
		Mary Sweeney	Noel Tuohy
		Caroline Dwane Stanley	John King
		Thomasina Connell	Paschal McEvoy
		Ollie Clooney	Conor Bergin
		Ben Brennan	P.J. Kelly

IN ATTENDANCE:

Messers John Mulholland, Chief Executive, Donal Brennan, Director of Services, Simon Walton, Director of Services, Mr. Joe Delaney, Director of Services, Ms. Irene Delaney, A.O., & Ms. Michelle McCormack, S.O.

103. ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

It was proposed by Councillor Mary Sweeney and seconded by Councillor Thomasina Conneil:

"That Councillor Conor Bergin be appointed Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

It was proposed by Councillor Caroline Dwane Stanley and seconded by Councillor James Kelly:

"That Councillor Ben Brennan be appointed Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

A Roll Call Vote was taken

COUNCILLOR		FOR	FOR
		COUNCILLOR	COUNCILLOR
		BERGIN	BRENNAN
FIRST NAME	SURNAME		
William	AIRD	✓	
Conor	BERGIN	✓	
Paddy	BRACKEN	✓	
Ben	BRENNAN		✓
Ollie	CLOONEY	✓	
Thomasina	CONNELL	✓	

Caroline	DWANE		✓
	STANLEY		
John Joe	FENNELLY	✓	
Catherine	FITZGERALD	✓	
Padraig	FLEMING	✓	
James	KELLY		✓
P.J.	KELLY	✓	
John	KING	✓	
Seamus	MCDONALD	✓	
Paschal	MCEVOY	✓	
Aisling	MORAN	✓	
P.J.	KELLY	✓	
Aidan	MULLINS		✓
Mary	SWEENEY	✓	
Noel	TUOHY		✓

Total Number of Votes 14 votes in favour of Councillor Conor Bergin and 5 votes in favour of Councillor Ben Brennan. Councillor Conor Bergin having been elected Cathaoirleach, thanked his proposer and seconder and all his colleagues who supported him and he then took the Chair. The Chief Executive, Mr. John Mulholland, on behalf of the Management and Staff at Áras an Chontae extended warm congratulations to Councillor Bergin on this very proud and historical occasion for Councillor Bergin and his family.

104. Election of Leas-Cathaoirleach

It was proposed by Councillor Catherine Fitzgerald and seconded by Paddy Bracken:

"That Councillor John Joe Fennelly be appointed Leas-Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

It was proposed by Councillor Caroline Dwane Stanley and seconded by Councillor Noel Tuohy:

"That Councillor James Kelly be appointed Leas-Cathaoirleach for the coming year"

A Roll Call Vote was taken which resulted as follows:

COUNCILLOR		FOR COUNCILLOR FENNELLY	FOR COUNCILLOR KELLY
FIRST NAME	SURNAME		
William	AIRD	✓	

Conor	BERGIN	✓	
Paddy	BRACKEN	✓	
Ben	BRENNAN		✓
Ollie	CLOONEY	✓	
Thomasina	CONNELL	✓	
Caroline	DWANE		✓
	STANLEY		
John Joe	FENNELLY	✓	
Catherine	FITZGERALD	✓	
Padraig	FLEMING	✓	
James	KELLY		✓
John	KING	✓	
Seamus	MCDONALD	✓	
Paschal	MCEVOY	✓	
Aisling	MORAN	✓	
P.J.	KELLY	✓	
Aidan	MULLINS		✓
Mary	SWEENEY	✓	
Noel	TUOHY		✓

Total Number of Votes 14 votes in favour of Councillor John Joe Fennelly and 5 votes in favour of Councillor James Kelly

Councillor John Joe Fennelly having been elected Leas-Cathaoirleach, thanked his proposer and seconder and all his colleagues who supported him.

105. DRAFT SCHEDULE OF LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL MEETINGS JULY 2021 – JUNE 2022 IN ACCORDANCE WITH LAOIS COUNTY COUNCIL STANDING ORDERS

The Members were circulated were circulated with a Schedule of Meetings from July 2021 to June 2022 which were unanimously agreed on the proposition of Councillor Willie Aird seconded by Councillor Thomasina Connell.

This concluded the business of the meeting.

SIGNED:		CERTIFIED:	
	CATHAOIRLEACH	_	DIRECTOR OF SERVICES
			CORPORATE AFFAIRS